Cuisine

Food is such a big aspect of our lives, and a lot of us spend a lot of time planning our activities around it. Especially in America. 

Not having a kitchen means eating at restaurants or buying food from a cafe which is great (albeit expensive!) as it results in trying a lot of new and a variety of food. 

In New Hampshire they are really fond of maple and put it in a variety of recipes including whoppie pie. I haven’t tried one as it sounds too sickly! 

However, I have tried other “typical” American foods, such as soft pretzels with dragon breath mustard:


Grilled cheese sandwich:

New York cheesecake 


Vanilla milkshake

And a fluffernutter, which is marshmallow fluff and peanut butter in a sandwich! It’s weirdly good but I couldn’t eat a whole one! Personally, I just love the name! 
It’s true what they say though, America does have big portions! 


I still can’t get over the size of this banana and nut muffin! It was really tasty though, which is why I expect it’s so large! 


These nachos are a third of what they serve… as an appetiser! I have managed to eat a whole portion though after an hour at the gym followed by a mile walk and three hours at work! 

Although, it can be hard to find something you like, especially if you have dietary restrictions. In America, meat is at the centre of every dish whichis difficult for me, being a vegetarian!

One lunchtime I was only able to get this in the cafeteria after a 5 mile hike. I was so hungry! 


But after a few sickness incidents after this meal I don’t eat there anymore! There’s a reason why rice should not be reheated! 


It looked and tasted good as well! 

So now I eat out, or get an employee meal where I work. This was my meal at the top of Mount Rosebrook the other day. A Greek wrap with crisps (chips) and a pickle. They love their pickles here, thankfully, so do I! 

It can get boring eating the same meals everyday so I try and change it up a bit with side by sometimes getting fries or chips. I’m still trying to get my head round the fact that chips are crisps here, which is harder than I thought it would be! 

They also have different names for other items not just food, but that’s a whole other blog! 

Ultimately I’m just looking forward to trying foods from different states, however I do miss my mums roasts, especially her Yorkshire puddings! And British chocolate of course!

Leave a Reply

